2022 KSHSAA STATE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT SPORTSMANSHIP AWARDS

The Kansas State High School Activities Association, through its member schools, defines sportsmanship as those qualities of behavior which are characterized by generosity and genuine concern for others. Further, an awareness is expected of the impact of an individual's influence on the behavior of others.

The excitement of a basketball game can create concerns for fans, students and officials. Citizenship/Sportsmanship Rule 52 addresses this by stating: "Win with character and lose with dignity."

Outstanding sportsmanship is acknowledged each year by presenting sportsmanship certificates, plaques and medals. All 112 high school teams participating in KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments may qualify for an award. A "rating" system is used allowing schools to compete against a "standard of excellence", rather than competing against one another.

A special sportsmanship committee appointed by the KSHSAA evaluated and rated the cheerleaders, school cheering section, adult and non-high school followers, team and coach of each school. The following schools qualified for **sportsmanship awards** at the KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments:

CLASS 1A DII GIRLS —

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

Hutchinson-Central Christian: Roberto Ibarra, Principal Rexford-Golden Plains: Ashley Arnberger, Princpal

CLASS 1A DII BOYS -

Certificate:

Claflin-Central Plains: Toby Holmes, Principal Rozel-Pawnee Heights: Mark Pywell, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 1A DI GIRLS -

Certificate:

Clifton-Clyde: Art Baker, Principal Little River: Randy Hendrickson, Principal Spearville: Kevin Rueb, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Centralia: Larry Glatczak, Principal

CLASS 1A DI BOYS -

Certificate:

Ness City: Tom Flax, Principal Osborne: Tom Conway, Principal Troy: Mike Estes, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Macksville: Scott Palser, Principal Montezuma-South Gray: Kim Batman, Principal Olpe: Shane Clark, Principal Solomon: Nicholas Owen, Principal

CLASS 2A GIRLS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

Sterling: Phil Bressler, Principal

CLASS 2A BOYS -

Certificate:

Pittsburg-St. Mary's Colgan: Wes Streeter, Principal Sterling: Phil Bressler, Principal Wichita-The Independent School: Dave Heldreth, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 3A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Cherryvale: James Renfro, Principal Frontenac: Mike Copple, Principal

Gypsum-Southeast of Saline: Rhonda Wright, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Hugoton: Melody Witt, Principal Nickerson: Rick Blosser, Principal Silver Lake: Ryan Luke, Principal

CLASS 3A BOYS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

Hays-Thomas More Prep-Marian: Chad Meitner, Principal Hesston: Ty Rhodes, Principal

CLASS 4A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Clay Center Community: Bud Young, Principal McPherson: Dr. Audrey Herbst, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Wamego: Julie Schrum, Principal Wellington: Dr. Zack Hood, Principal

CLASS 4A BOYS -

Certificate:

Abilene: Dr. Ben Smith, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 5A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Spring Hill: Marc Williams, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 5A BOYS -

Certificate:

Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel: Chris Bloomer, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 6A GIRLS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 6A BOYS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

None